Listening

Listening is the theme of my online writing course this week. It couldn’t have come at a better time.

A few weeks ago I had a severe asthma attack and despite my body’s warnings I kept on working. The medication eventually healed my lungs, but my immune system suffered. I didn’t listen to my body’s signals and by Sunday I woke up with a splitting headache and a swollen face. A sinus infection finally got my attention. Take it easy my body pleaded. So I listened.

The body tells us plenty if we learn to heed its messages. I admit I often ignore the signals until I am forced to stop and take care of myself. Left over from the days when I was the only parent home taking care of my kids, I soldiered on, no matter how ill I was.

It’s time to listen. To my body, to my gut, and to others. So the listening portion of this writing assignment is my wake-up call.

The first suggestion is to sit quietly for five minutes with your eyes closed and then write down what you heard.

imgres-3

 

Taking this week to rest and heal, I am taking time to listen to my body and to the messages that come with deep listening to what I hear in the silence.

@annettealaine2016

Leave a Reply

