A Brand New Year

It’s a brand new Year  and I am happy to be shed of 2015.

I’ve taken stock of the past year. The end of the year brings an end to the negative energy that invaded my life.

For months there was no way to escape- hostile work environment, nasty behavior being flung my way in the personal sphere. There were breaking points- when I could not bear one more day of the cloud of hostility.

But, personal strife brings great lessons.

 

Years of enduring loneliness and the isolation that came from being uprooted again and again gifted me with resilience. It gave me the grit and determination to hold onto my job this year through numerous leadership shifts.

Words of encouragement and support are priceless. Giving and receiving positive affirmation is a gift that costs nothing. Being appreciated; offering a simple “thank you,” can make a job more joyful.

Family becomes more complex as our children age out and old traditions and rituals change as they become adults.  Resistance by extended family to acknowledge and reimagine holidays can create stress and rifts.

In 2016  I will embrace the new order-

The nest will finally empty this year.  It’s time to downsize the living space.  Work is what we do, it pays the bills, but the creative side is what feeds the soul.  It’s time to let go of relationships that no longer work, and seeking out new friends and adventures.

I’ve survived 2015. I’m about to begin a new adventure beginning at work. I’ve set new writing goals for the year. And my husband and I are looking forward to being more adventurous in 2016.

A Happy and Prosperous New Year to All!

©annettealaine2016

 

4 thoughts on “A Brand New Year

  1. Empty nest? There are changes ahead then for you this year. May the transition be smooth for you and that the period of mourning is short, before the reality of freedom kicks in.
    All the best for a wonderful 2016. 🙂

  2. I feel you sister…work-a-day woes, empty nest, the pressure of rituals…but you said it best, embrace the “new order” (this will be my new moto). So, out with the old and in with the new. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

