The Wonder Years

There is so much in the world to bring you down. There’s war, senseless death, disease, and cruelty.

I remember when I was a child and the nightly news brought the war in Vietnam right into our living rooms. The sixties seemed so turbulent. We did not know that it was just the beginning, that 24 hour news stations, the internet, and social media would feed us a steady diet of negativity and, at times, pure evil.

Somedays I am overwhelmed- full sensory overload. And then I realize that despite all of the naysayers and the doomsday predictions, I see the glass half-full.

Thank goodness it is not in my nature to be so cynical. I look for the beauty when I am surrounded by gray. I go outside and take in the simple beauty of trees and birds and clouds in the sky.

If the people around me see the worst, I look for a story that restores my faith in the human race.

I refuse to view the world with a jaundiced eye- there is too much mystery, too much wonder all around us. And life’s too short not to have our breath taken away at least once a day.

©annettealaine 2015

2 thoughts on “The Wonder Years

Leave a Reply

