The First Day of Spring

Today is the first day of Spring. At least it is for me.

Today is the day I cleaned the chairs and swept the porch.

I scrubbed the water fountain and rinsed the rocks free of pollen.

I bought birdseed and refilled the feeder that hangs from the newly leafed oak tree.

I’ve hauled out my supplies: water bottle, pen and paper, books and laptop.

And I spend the afternoon listening to the sounds of birds chattering over seed,

the sound of water cascading onto the rocks,

inhaling the sweet scent of the tea olives in bloom.

Yes, today is the first day of Spring for me. The first of many days of sitting in the dappled sunlight,

with the cat at my feet, and filtered sunlight falling across the page of my book.

©annettealaine 2015

2 thoughts on “The First Day of Spring

Leave a comment