Letting Go

“Attachment is the origin, the root of suffering; 
hence it is the cause of suffering.” -Dalai Lama

I was repeating this mantra to myself in the dark last night, “Let it go.  Detach yourself from this situation.”

In Buddhism, letting go is known as non-attachment. Buddhists believe that everything in life is impermanent and ever-changing.

We often understand this principle deep in our hearts, but our brains stubbornly refuse to accept that we are not in control of our destiny.

So we fight, and we struggle. We dig in our heels and hold on tight to whatever it is: a relationship, a job, a lifestyle.

But, life is always in a state of transition. I’ve learned over the years to let go. I no longer define myself by roles assigned to me or by other’s expectations. This detachment minimizes my fears and lessens my anxiety.

How freeing it is to be able to let go, not with arrogance, but with a humble acceptance that I am going to treat those around me with compassion and let karma take care of the rest.

As the Buddha says, “Letting go is gaining freedom.”

©annettealaine

Leave a Reply

