Yard Waste

We are in the process of clearing out our backyard.

For the last four years, I have been unable to keep up with the pruning, trimming, and planting.

The previous owner had planted assorted vines, and shrubs that would grow fast. He wanted to create a screen to block the view of the neighbor’s yard.

Well, they did their job- thirty foot bushes, and vines that twisted around every surface.

I could not see the house, I lost the sight of the fence, and I could not even find half of my backyard.

The young man who is clearing out the jungle has done an amazing job. Yesterday saw my back fence for the first time in years. Today I came home and discovered lawn ornaments and statuary that I forgot I owned.

I can’t wait to see what he uncovers tomorrow.

Middle years call for excavation. It’s a time to cut through the layers of negative feelings, and reveal our real selves.

May we all find our hidden treasures.

© annettealaine

Leave a Reply

