The Folly of Youth

Watching my daughter try on swimsuits at Target, and  later browsing through a catalog, I realize there is no turning back.

I must accept the fact that I can’t wear those tiny bikinis, or even a two piece, unless it’s a tankini.

I don’t mourn the fact that this phase is over.  I kick myself for being so critical and self-conscious thirty some years ago, when I could wear a bikini.

Why do we sabotage ourselves? If I could talk to my younger self, I would tell her- relax!

You’ve got this. You are beautiful.

Your confidence should come from a source deep within you.

Love your body.

Don’t be so hard on yourself.

And above all, enjoy your youth.

It’s fleeting.

©annettealaine 2014

Leave a Reply

