Middle years brings a new awareness of areas that need to be healed.

I was raised to be a good girl.

A girl who does what she asked. A girl who anticipates a need and fills it.

A girl who finds her identity is directly linked to making people happy, and not making waves.

A girl who fussed inside, but allowed herself to be pushed into situations.

And then I grew up.

In my middle years,  I realized that I had ignored my gut, my inner truth.

So I started saying no.

I began to ask that my needs be met, too.

And I stopped putting my self last.

It’s a work in progress, but I am happier, and healthier.

What areas of your life need healing?

© annettealaine 2014

Leave a Reply

